Event Planning at Pathfinder

PTSA Communications

Welcoming | Streamlined | Transparent | Accurate

Are you planning an event at Pathfinder?

This page provides instructions and links to help you get the get the word out to the Pathfinder community about upcoming PTSA meetings, events and fundraisers.

There are many ways families stay informed about what is happening at Pathfinder: the school website and calendar, the PTSA website and calendar, the Hot Sheet, Compass, emails from teachers, the principal and clan coordinators and the PTSA president, to name a few.

>>For a listing of the major information sources at Pathfinder K-8, follow this link.

So, what’s the best information source to use to get the word out? Often, you will want to put your message into several of these outlets, and the PTSA Communications Team (aka parent volunteers) can help you.

graphic of a megaphoneNeed help to get your message out?

To request help in getting the word out from the PTSA Communications Team, send a message to communications@pathfinderk8ptsa.org

We can assist getting your message onto the marquee reader board, and other outlets.

 

To reserve space on school grounds

If your meeting or event will happen at school, you must submit your information and needs to the school secretary, Danielle Otey, at least three weeks in advance of the date so she can reserve the building and notify our custodians. Danielle will also know if your prospective event conflicts with any other school activity. This is district policy so that they can provide proper custodial and other staffing. Danielle will submit your reservation to the district-wide “School Dude” system.

>>Follow this link to the SchoolDude reservation form. You can fill out the form on your screen, then email it or hand it to Danielle Otey in the school office.

Emailed Newsletters

The Hot Sheet and Compass are created in the office and are sent to all families via email – if your family needs to receive the Hot Sheet in hard copy instead of via email, contact the school office to request a hard copy to come home in your child’s backpack. The Hot Sheet goes out approximately every 2 weeks and has a calendar of upcoming events along with brief notices about important events, deadlines, etc.  The Compass is a longer format newsletter and is sent via email approximately every month. Here are the important dates and instructions for getting your message into these newsletters.

Hot Sheet submission and publish dates

What: Very brief descriptions – couple of sentences. No pictures.

Who: Submit to:

1. David Dockendorf, Principal: ddockendorf@seattleschools.org
2. Danielle Otey, Secretary: dtotey@seattleschools.org

When: Submit by Friday prior to publish date (Monday at absolute latest)

Publish dates for the Hot Sheet for 2017-2018:

Wednesday, October 18

Wednesday, November 1

Wednesday, November 15

Wednesday, November 29

no Compass distributed in December

Wednesday, January 10

Wednesday, January 24

Wednesday, February 7

Wednesday, February 28

Wednesday, March 14

Wednesday, March 28

Wednesday, April 18

Wednesday, May 2

Wednesday, May 16

Wednesday, May 30

Wednesday, June 13

 

Compass submission and publish dates

What: Newsy articles, pictures.

Who: Send your article to:

1. David Dockendorf, Principal: ddockendorf@seattleschools.org and
2. Danielle Otey, Secretary: dtotey@seattleschools.org

When: Submit at least one week prior to publish date

Publish dates for Compass for 2017 – 2018:

Wednesday, November 8

Wednesday, December 13

Wednesday, January 31 (possibly January 30 or February 1)

Wednesday, March 7

Wednesday, May 9

Wednesday, June 20

 

Questions? Contact Gillian Maguire and the Communications Team